The United States Constitution is the supreme law of the United States and the framework for the federal government. It was written in 1787 and went into effect on March 4, 1789. The Constitution outlines the structure of the government, divides power between the three branches (legislative, executive, and judicial), and protects the rights of citizens.

The legislative branch, made up of the Senate and the House of Representatives, is responsible for making the laws. The executive branch, headed by the President, is responsible for enforcing the laws and serving as the commander-in-chief of the military. The judicial branch, made up of the Supreme Court and other federal courts, is responsible for interpreting the laws and resolving disputes.

The Constitution also contains the Bill of Rights, which consists of the first ten amendments and outlines the basic rights of citizens, such as freedom of speech, religion, and the press. These rights are considered fundamental and cannot be taken away by the government.

The US Constitution has been amended 27 times and is considered a flexible document that has been able to adapt to the changing needs of the country over time. Despite its age, the Constitution remains a cornerstone of American democracy and a symbol of the country’s commitment to freedom and equality.